“The experiences of hearing the ensemble in concert are simply breathtaking. They remove me from the world of the roaring traffic's boom into a world of both beauty and excitement. The profound and soaring beauty of the talented voices in HVAE reaches into and moves one's brain like perhaps no other performance art can.” — A Longtime Patron, 2011 • • • “A Luxuriant Sonic Delight” — Joseph Rothstein, Honolulu Advertiser • • • “The performances are crisp, harmonic, seductive—in a traditional no frills manner.” — Wayne Harada, Honolulu Advertiser • • • “Wow...You all have done it again! The blend was wonderful for each section and the chorus as a whole. The sopranos sounded especially angelic.” — 2007 patron • • • “The orchestra, the choir, and the star singers were outstanding” — 2007 patron • • • “I still cannot find words to express the depth of my response to the power and beauty of the evening.” — 2007 patron • • •


Now in our twenty-fifth season, Hawai'i Vocal Arts Ensemble (HVAE) is known for its tonal beauty and imaginative programming. Led by Music Director Timothy Carney, we are dedicated to bringing great performances of significant choral music to as wide an audience as possible.

Join the singers of Hawaii Vocal Arts Ensemble in glorious music for voices and strings!

Across the Vast Eternal Sky

For this special pair of concerts, we will be joined by the musicians of the Galliard String Quartet. The program includes stunning music by Schubert, Ola Gjeilo, Daniel Elder, Henryk Gorecki, Kim Andre Arnesen, and others.

Two performances only, October 22 and 23, in the intimate setting of the Mystical Rose Oratory at Chaminade University. Plenty of free parking, and handicap accessible. Tickets at Honoluluboxoffice.com or 550-8457, beginning October 3.

Mystical Rose
© 2006-2016 Hawai'i Vocal Arts Ensemble | Web Design: Ko'olau Design | Updated 5/26/2016
Linda Key Norris: Soprano Eric Schank: Accompanist Gloria Faltstrom: Saprano Susan Kiyosaki: Soprano Tom Luna: Bass Nada Marriott: Saprano Thomas Koenig: Bass Amy Johnson: Saprano Brett Hudson: Bass Megan Johnson: Saprano Melisa Orozco-Vargas: Soprano Grant Mack: Bass Kate Johnson: Saprano Loren Johnson: Bass Timothy Carney: Music Director Kalina Loo: Alto Sarah Sylvia Johnson: Alto Alex Silver: Tenor Susan Purnell: Alto Doc Wilson: Tenor Liza Edwards: Alto Glenn Merchant: Tenor Jennifer Hoss: Alto Erick Yamanaka: Tenor Dana Barnum: Alto Max Lee: Tenor Chris Walsh: Alto Douglas Hall: Tenor Carmen Leal: Alto